Summer Clouds

Technology is just a part of us, but not the world.

Nelson Reyes
2 min readJul 7, 2016

“Life is always running fast and if you don´t get the bus you lose a lot opportunities”, much people think like that and I think the opposite. I born and live on small village, 33 kilometer from Guatemala City, no internet and no much smartphones, that is good. I like to live around nature, my family like agriculture and we are producing avocado. Recently I’ve finished the university, I decided to study Science and Systems Engineering and also I like that career. I spend 4 years working on social projects, helping communities to teaching children to be leaders in their life and communities.

I worked on San Carlos University of Guatemala, the unique public university in the country, I’ve been working on automating the diploma’s issue process. I received every month Q3,000 about $300 US dollars. Is no much here in Guatemala, is the minimal salary, but that make me happy as my first job as engineer. Pitifully, there is no more resources to contract me. I love the project that I worked for 9 months, I accept it for the challenge, and no much money is good for your life. Before that, I spend working as volunteer on social projects around Guatemala, and also sharing knowledge with others friends from Africa and Norway. That work also full me of love and happiness. I never fear the future, never in my life regret a decision, much people want to finish quickly the university, and enterprises also are looking for younger persons with a lot experience; I choose the path to learn about life, to help others, and share the knowledge that I have with no price.

I’m 30 years old, recently graduated, with 9 months of experience as engineer, 4 years of experience on social work, no license to drive, no native English speaking. I’m afraid to don’t find a job where I can combine those areas, a world that want English certificates, university’s diploma, experience that consume all your life. I know, is just matter of time, maybe a moment of feeling that the bus is leaving me. And I know is not the world, perhaps Guatemala is different what other countries offer in jobs. I know maybe a lot of people has passing for this, and hope find someone to guide and share experience. I’m believing that I’m on a kind of stress, the matter of find a good job, writing comfort me.

I love to work with children, also learn and work with new technologies.

Technology is just a part of us, but not the world.

--

--

Nelson Reyes

I'm a software developer who likes to do mountain bike in my free time